Book reviews By Janet Bollum and Friends

Tim Dorsey – Save the Date (Feb 4th)!

Tim Dorsey will be at The Muse Book Shop signing his new book Clownfish Blues Saturday February 4th at 6 PM. Serge and Coleman are participating in a reenactment of the Route 66 show, Florida Style. They are rolling down the highway of Serge’s dreams in a vintage silver convertable, just like the snazzy car Continue Reading

Book Review: “Blame” by Melody Dimick

Set in the shadows of the Adirondack Mountains, “Blame” is the third book in a young adult series by local author Melody Dimick. A group of misfit girls form a Manga club which has now grown to include male friends.  They tackle issues faced by many teens as they navigate high school.  This story revolves Continue Reading

C. J. Redwine’s “Shadow Queen”

The Shadow Queen is a dark epic fantasy inspired by the tale of Snow White.  C. J. Redwine is the author of the Defiance series. Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Cinder.  Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both Continue Reading

Review & Author Signing | Robert Macomber

” An Honorable War” is 13th in the award-winning Honor Series of naval historical fiction by Robert N. Macomber. The year is 1898, and newly elected president McKinley is determined to remain out of the Cuban War of Independence. Captain Peter Wake believes conflict is inevitable and Assistant Secretary of the United States Navy Theodore Continue Reading

Review: “The Knightingale” by Kristin Hannah

  “The Nightingale” by Kristin Hannah A great piece of Historical fiction set in France during the Nazi occupation. The story revolves around two sisters, separated by years and by ideals, but both fighting the evils of an oppressive era in French history. It is 1939 and in the French village of Carriveau, Vianne Mauriac Continue Reading

Review of “The Martian”, by Andy Weir

Reviewing this book is a pleasure, because it affords me the opportunity to tell people how much I loved it and why. Which is to say, a LOT. It’s hard to rate so high on my list, but this is easily a 9 out of 10 for me and one of the best books I’ve Continue Reading

“Farenheit 451″, by Ray Bradbury

Written in 1953, considered one of his best works and an internationally acclaimed classic, “Farenheit 451″ makes for a very different and intriguing read. At first, I thought it was going to be a difficult read. Bradbury’s style employs a lot of metaphors and it felt like he was trying to hard to be poetic. Continue Reading

“Natchez Burning” by Greg Iles

Greg Iles new book “Natchez Burning” cuts deep into the wounds of the civil right movement and lays bare the (probable) atrocities committed during this dark time, particularly in Natchez, Mississippi. Inspired by actual cases, Iles combines fiction and rumor to put together a picture of Southern Mississippi gripped by the atrocities of the KKK. Continue Reading

“Mary Anne Carroll, First Lady of the Highwaymen” by Gary Monroe

Local Author Gary Monroe has just published another “Highwaymen” book honoring the “First Lady” of the Highwaymen, Mary Anne Carroll. The only female member of this honored group of Florida artists. At 16 Mary Ann Carroll met Harold Newton, later dubbed the original Highwayman. At 18 she sold her first painting. The year is 1958 Continue Reading